The Routine – Don’t Give Me Hope

The Routine are a four-piece band from Cambridgeshire who first formed in 2019 and consists of members Liam Palmer (vocals/rhythm guitar), Ben Taylor (lead guitar), Ben Nunn (bass) and Mark Thomson (drums). Don’t Give Me Hope is the band’s latest single and was released on 22/09/2023.

The track is a roaring power pop / rock number with influences from bands such as Foo Fighters, Feeder, Bush, Franz Ferdinand, and this is not a band who afraid to wear their influences on their sleeves.

With catchy hooks and melodies, this is a track that the listener will still be humming long after they have finished listening to it, and the singalong lyrics means that it will be sung out by many. The lead vocals are powerful and strong, and, with just enough grit, they are immensely emotional too. The backups vocals accompany the leads perfectly and as the song progresses so does the intensity of the vocals and lyrics.

Musically, this is an awesome track. The guitar riffs and hooks are heavy when they need to be, yet are more melodic at other times, really generating a great contrast as the song develops. The drum and bass sections are tight and together they keep the track solid and on track. The guitar solos are absolutely fantastic, and all the instruments really gel well together.

This is a totally awesome track that I had to listen to four or five times as the pull it has on the listener is just phenomenal. I will definitely be checking out the debut album when it is released! Awesome track.

This review is the property of The Metal Asylum

Leave a Reply