Luna Waves – Bruised Gold

Luna Waves is Bedford-based singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Rob Muir and he plays “dark, dreamy, ethereal and atmospheric psych rock / dream pop.”

He was raised on the likes of Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Soundgarden and The Smashing Pumpkins and considers himself a 90’s kid at heart but he also has influences from his musician father which include The Beatles, Pink Floyd, and Jimi Hendrix, and is also inspired by a whole host of contemporary artists.

Bruised Gold is his third album after he released Seafoam Dream Pt 1 on 09/11/2018 and Blood Moon on 25/03/2022 and was released on 18/11/2022.

The album is yet another dreamy rock album and has a total of twelve songs with a running time of about 54 minutes.

The vocals are laid back, soft and gentle yet with a certain punch about them and vocal harmonies and choir sections give the tracks depth, making the songs catchy and memorable. Rob has a wide vocal range and would seem to be just at home singing a powerful ballad as he would belting out a classic rock hit.

The guitar riffs are heavy enough to take the album out of the pop genre yet soft enough to maintain the indie feel of the album. The drum and bass sections are tight and keep the album on track.

Pace changes throughout the album are kept to a minimum but have maximum effect and the listener is never left bored, always being kept engaged.

This is a fantastic album that has a great mellow vibe to it, leaving the listener chilled out and relaxed. All the elements of modern-day rock/pop are there and there is even a hint of nostalgia as he makes a nod back to the indie bands of the 90’s.

I would recommend this album to anyone who likes a bit of easy listening music, sitting in the garden (ok, not in this weather, but on a nice, hot summers day!) with a beer and just chilling out for an hour as you really can escape everyday life with this album.

Go check it out!

Track Listing:

1) Talisman

2) Lemondaze Slow Burn

3) Out Of Phase

4) Street Hawkers

5) Get Lazy

6) Send A Wish On The Shore

7) Golden Promise

8) Only Yesterday

9) Ready To Survive

10) It Meant Nothing At All

11) Nocturnal Teens

12) Sun Dappled Clouds

This review is purely the property of The Metal Asylum

Leave a Reply