Catastrophe – Terror Campaign EP

One of the things I love about reviewing albums is I never know what I am going to get. A new upcoming band, or a more established band who I have never heard of, could approach me to write a review for them and until I plug that USB stick into the stereo in my car, I never know what I am going to hear. This, in itself, can be a blessing or a curse.

In the case of Catastrophe, it was definitely a blessing.

Hailing from Dublin in Ireland, Catastrophe are a thrash metal band formed in 2015 and within a week, the band had written “Propaganda”, the first track on the recently released EP “Terror Campaign”, a sure sign of how well the five members fitted together.

Siting bands such as Slayer, Testament, Exodus, Destruction and Annihilator as influences, Catastrophe have mixed elements of thrash, NWOBHM, punk and hard rock to create their own sound and it really is hard to believe that these guys have only been together for a year.

The EP is a pretty intensive experience from start to finish with a hard and fast energy the driving force behind it. The vocals are typical of the thrash genre, shouted with a few growls thrown in for good measure. The guitars, almost punky at times, are heavy with some blistering solos and the basswork is fantastic, most notable on the bass-lead intro to “God Is Gone.”

And lastly, if the drumming is anything to go by, these guys certainly don’t need to go to the gym to work out!

This is great thrash EP that couples the charm and chemistry of early 80’s trash metal with the vigour of more contemporary bands and it has undoubtedly reignited my love for the thrash genre.

If there was ever a band that could be described as rawer than early Slayer, then Catastrophe would be that band!

I will be on tenterhooks now waiting for the next release from this terrific band. I just hope it comes sooner rather than later.

1. Propaganda
2. God Is Gone
3. Terror Campaign
4. Septic Society
5. Kill Or Be Killed

Jamie Murphy – Vocals
Adam Treacy – Lead Guitar
Gordo Casey – Guitar
Darragh O’Connor – Bass
Connor Middleton – Drums

This review is solely the property of Dawn Smith and The Metal Asylum

Leave a Reply