Suicide By Tigers – Suicide By Tigers

Being a thrash, heavy metal type of girl at heart, it’s not very often I listen to something that is a bit softer, a bit mellower or a bit bluesier (is that even a word??) but that’s what I did when I listened to this album.

Released on Smilodon Records on 02/09/2016, the self-titled album is the debut recording for Swedish band Suicide By Tigers and has been hailed by European rock media as one of last year’s best debut albums.

Influenced by classic rock giants such as Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, Thin Lizzy and Jimi Hendrix, Suicide By Tigers are “a rock band with a passion for hard-hitting yet dynamic classic rock, and strong melodies which captures the essence of loud rock.”

The four musicians became friends throughout the 1990’s while on the club scene in Malmö, Sweden, and although they continued to hang out, professionally they headed in different directions.

It wasn’t until vocalist Nils Lindström and guitarist Petter Rudnert joined forces in 2012 to work on some songs, that Suicide By Tigers was born, and they were joined by bassist Peter Broch or drummer Johan Helgesson in 2014, completing their lineup.

Produced by the award winning Berno Paulsson (The Haunted, Amon Amarth, Spiritual Beggars) Suicide by Tigers is a fantastic debut of classic rock infused with soul, a great mix of rock and blues all set to the back drop of superb musicianship.

Petter Rudner’s guitar riffs are thumping and heavy, even opening the last track Karma with a solo, Lindström’s vocals are strong, often reminding me of many of the rock vocalists of the 1980’s, and there is a solid rhythm section in both Broch and Helgesson.

Looking like they should play classic rock, this is exactly what Suicide By Tigers do, and they do it well. Not liked by some for playing music of a by-gone age, I think this is what adds to their appeal. As I was unable to live through those periods of classic rock myself (I’m far too young for that!) it’s nice to be transported back to an era when rock was rock, even if it is just for 45 minutes. That retro feeling of not actually knowing what time zone you are in only heightens the pull this album has. I could listen to this album over and over again and not tire of it, each track throwing up things I hadn’t noticed before.

This band should expect big things and, with the release of their first single “Vicious Malicious” earlier this year along with a video directed by Björn Wahlström, they certainly are on their way.

This is a must listen to for any classic rock fan and an ideal addition to any classic rock collection.

1. Death on Your Trail
2. Beautiful Nights
3. Pack of Wolves
4. True Believers
5. Vicious Malicious
6. Fox in a Hole
7. Ball of Fire
8. Keep You Smiling
9. Karma

Nils Lindström – vocals
Petter Rudnert – guitar
Peter Broch – bass
Johan Helgesson – drums and percussion

Originally posted to Ever Metal

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dawn Smith, The Metal Asylum and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply